Contact: Martha Richmond 503.415.6061


PORTLAND, ORE. (December 13, 2012) – Tsuruta Confirmed as Port Commissioner

The Oregon State Senate has confirmed Gov. John Kitzhaber’s nomination of Tom Tsuruta

Tom Tsuruta

as a new Port of Portland Commissioner. A Washington County resident, Tsuruta currently is professor and executive in residence at Marylhurst University and also serves as a senior advisor to Aeon Co. Ltd., a $60 billion-a-year global retail conglomerate based in Tokyo, Japan.  

Prior to his current role with Aeon, Tsuruta served as executive vice president and general manager, senior vice president, and as vice president of Aeon USA Inc., a US subsidiary of Aeon Co., Ltd.

He currently serves on the board of Aeon USA Inc. as well as on the boards of Agentrics, LLC and OnPoint Credit Union. He also is a member of the National Association of Corporate Directors, the United States Tennis Association, the Board of Visitors of Northwestern School of Law and the Bordeaux Wine Enthusiast Club of America.

Past board memberships include Talbots Inc., a public company listed on the NYSE and WWRE, a business to business exchange owned and operated by a number of large global retailers including Ahold, Carrefour, Kroger, Safeway, Sears, Tesco, Aeon, Lotte, Walgreens and CVS.

Tsuruta has a B.A. in English, and received his J.D. from Northwestern School of Law at Lewis and Clark College.

"Tom brings a wealth of experience both as a businessman and as an advisor to businesses and nonprofits across the country," said Governor Kitzhaber. "His connections to Japan, one of Oregon's most important trading partners, is also welcome, and I look forward to his service."

“Now is the time in my life when I have a desire to give back,” said Tsuruta.  “This city has given me so much over the years, particularly during my post-baccalaureate and graduate school years, providing me with a good foundation to which I attribute much of my successful and enjoyable international business experience of the past 20 plus years.  I hope to be a positive addition to the Commission and contribute to the Port’s business performance and the critical role it plays in our region’s economy.”

Tsuruta will replace Commissioner Ken Allen who has served on the Commission since 2004 and whose current term has expired.

Other members of the Port Commission are: Jim Carter, Commission president; Steve Corey, Commission vice president and a Pendleton attorney and sheep rancher; Paul Rosenbaum, Commission treasurer and CEO and board chairman of SWR Corporation; Diana Daggett, Commission secretary and American region director of corporate affairs, Intel Corporation; Peter Bragdon, vice president and general counsel, Columbia Sportswear Company;  Tom Chamberlain, president, Oregon AFL- CIO; Linda Pearce,  chief financial officer of Nautilus, Inc., and Bruce A. Holte, a longshoreman and secretary/treasurer with the International Longshore and Warehouse Union.

The nine-member commission sets Port policy during its monthly meetings. At least two commissioners must each live in one of the three counties in the Port district (Multnomah, Washington and Clackamas Counties).

The remaining members may live in any part of the state. Commissioners are unpaid volunteers who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon Senate.  They serve four-year terms and can be reappointed. Commission presidents are selected by and serve at the pleasure of the Governor.  The Commission appoints the Port's executive director.

Contact: Martha Richmond 503.415.6061

Copyright ©2014 Port of Portland. Last modified: 7/26/2011   |   Privacy Policy